What Our Customer’s Say

Leave us a Review with Yelp, Trip Advisor or leave us a comment on our contact page. Thanks!

 

 

 

yelp-badge

 

 

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. From the service, to the very fresh food, our

experience was fabulous. Warm bread, fresh cream, great salads and quiche. We enjoyed it all.

Tom K., Yelp
You’ll feel like you walked into Buckingham Palace for a spot of tea with the Queen, herself. I usually order the soup and sandwich selection which includes a small cup of selected soup accompanied by 3 miniature sandwiches. Each is cut into two smaller halves. They are all refreshingly light and unique. If you’ve got a bigger appetite, check out the Cottage Pie. That mashed potato crust is going to leave you more than satisfied.
Andrew S., Yelp
I absolutely adore this place. Beautiful location, lovely staff and some of the tastiest tea and scones I have ever had. I will be returning with all the ladies in my life!!
Jenn R., Yelp
It was better than the High Tea at the Brown Hotel in London or the Phoenician in Phoenix and on par with the Empress in Victoria, British Columbia. It’s always hard to find special activities for out of town visitors during the hot Phoenix summer. I took my cousin from Dallas as a surprise and she loved it. The treats, choices of tea, china settings, atmosphere and service couldn’t have been better. My cousin was amused that we were going to Carefree and we turned on Easy Street. Check it out.
Sally S., Yelp

 


Reviews from Yelp! Reviews:

6/14/2011

This place is a hidden gem. I almost didn’t want to write a review, because I want to keep it my own little secret. While visiting my cousin in Phx. last April, I decided to drive out to cave creek/carefree and stumbled upon the quaintest tea shop. I was lucky and went mid week, and got in without a reservation. I had the Just Dessert Tea. The pastries were all delicious and tempting. The scone was perfect, and real Devon cream. A little slice of English heaven in the middle of the desert. Best of all was the ladies working, they were all very courteous and patient and kind. They were helpful in picking out a tea and made a lone traveler feel very welcome. I plan on coming back next spring, I’m even sending my Aunt out there next week.


1/16/2011

If you want to be transported to an enchanted place and step away from the hustle and bustle of the world, go to the English Rose Tea Room. I’ve been here so many times, including my own Bridal Shower, this place feels like home to me. Having never been to England, I imagine myself there each time I have tea sitting on the patio of this wonderful place.

My Husband and I went here this weekend (yes he loves it too), and have a lovely pot of Paris tea (my favorite), scones with cream and jam, and lunch entrees. He had the savory bread pudding and I had the tea sandwiches and soup. The food here is always great, as is the service. It’s a nice and relaxing place to people watch or have a good conversation with the person you are with.

I can’t say enough about this gem. Go there, even if you are a guy, don’t be afraid, you will LOVE it!


5 Star Review
6/21/2011

I love, love, love this place! Service and food are great and the atmosphere is so cute! Completely girly, over-top-victorian and makes for a fun girls brunch. I would def recommend it!


5 Star Review

Update – 3/13/2010

We went back today to try the Duchess of Bedford’s Formal Afternoon Tea….truly sumptuous! It is served on a 3 tier stand ….. the presentation is really amazing : )

We were lucky to get a seat as there were only about 2 tables left on the front patio. It was great to see it so busy as well as to see everyone enjoying their tea and sandwiches!

We had to order the Paris Tea once again as we had been craving it since our last visit. The staff as last time were wonderful and we picked up yet another little item at the gift store.

1 Previous Review:

5 Star Review 10/20/2009

Wow….what a wonderful find! Thanks to Yelp for the directions….don’t think we would have found it otherwise. This was truly a treat….I was finally able to share with my husband some scones…I also wanted him to try some crumpets but unfortunately they were out…but an excellent excuse to have to go back! We ordered the Earl of Sandwich which was a delicious selection of 6 tea sandwiches, our favourite being the chicken with nutmeg and tarragon, edged with walnuts. We also shard a pot of Paris Tea which was a blend of vanilla, caramel and bergamot oil….truly divine! For dessert we both had a scone with jam and cream…once again delicious….the cream also was very, very tasty. The Tea Room is decorated beautifully so you really do feel as if you are in an English Tea Room in Engand. The soft classical music was also a great accompaniment to the overall relaxing feel. The fine china topped it all off. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back to try the Duchess of Bedford’s Formal Afternoon Tea which is served on a three tiered cake stand and has such goodies as sandwiches, scones, petite fours and a pot of tea. And we of course will also be back for the crumpets. This is a wonderful spot for lunch or if you just feel like some dessert and tea. There was even the option of salads that looked very appetising or appetizing…already slipped back into English spelling having spent some time there! lol As we were leaving the owner informed us of her gift store next door….definitley worth a look….some great gift ideas. Highly recommend this special little spot.


4 Star Review
1/14/2010

What a delightful place! I brought a visiting friend here when she wanted to experience something different after I showed her around the Valley for several days. We decided to do the high tea (as recommended by Linda R’s review here in yelp). My friend chose a lavander-blended tea and I had the peach-ginger tea — two extraordinarily fragrant and delicious choices that went so well with the cakes, sandwiches, scones, and cookies in the 3-tiered server. The elegant meal (yes, I think it should be considered a meal) and the beautiful surroundings made our trip to Carefree so much more memorable.


5 Star Review
7/21/2009

I offered to host my god daughter’s wedding shower. She wanted a tea and I had to figure this out from San Francisco. I found the English Rose on line and never looked back. Joanne, the owner, was wonderful and the event was brilliant. The service was great, we had the place to ourselves after her regular hours, and the food varied, fun, and very English. We even had a sweet keyboard player who stayed with us throughout playing softly in the background. Too, perfect.


4 Star Review
10/13/2009

OMG, this is the cutest place in Carefree! I have a 7 year old daughter the insisted on having her birthday at English Rose Tea Room. The wait staff were wonderful and we all got to pick out our “fancy hats” before tea was served. The only complaint is that there is not much arm or leg room. However, you can sit outside if you desire more room.


5 Star Review
1/16/2008

Although a bit of a drive, The English Rose Tea Room was well worth it! This was the perfect place for my sister and I to spend a morning brunch on my birthday, yet I hear advanced reservations for any size party is a must, as they are constantly booked for special occassions. Service was excellent and this experience felt much more “authentic” than high tea at a resort. With its extremely pink and girly atmosphere, it’s safe to say that you might wanna leave the guys at home :)

The tea was exceptionally good. We got the “Paris” which was a black tea infused with caramel and blackcurrent, what they call a house favorite. The waitress kindly refilled our pot with hot water (they use loose leaves, so it can last up to 2 pots). I highly suggest the Tea for Two special. It comes with a 3-tiered rack of 3 types of tea sandwiches, scones, and various desserts. Most people next to us got salads, which looked equally yummy.

In addition, they also have a chest full of numerous ornate hats to wear while enjoying your tea. This was too fun!

 


Newspaper & Magazine Reviews:


New Times/ Phoenix Magazine October 2007“English Rose Tea Room voted Best in Phoenix for Kids Teas”

Scottsdale Magazine. September 2007, article by Judy Keane “Located on Easy Street in Carefree is an unexpected oasis where you can enjoy one of life’s truest delights – the civilized pleasure of taking time for tea…walking into the charming English Rose Tea Room, I suddenly felt transported to England…”

East Valley/Scottsdale Tribune August 10, 2007 article by Marija Potkonjak “There’s an English rose in the East Valley that refuses to wilt in the summer heat…the English Rose Tea Room is a refined desert oasis.”

Arizona Republic July 20, 2007 article by Alison Bailin “ A proper tea in the desert: Off the beaten path a little is one of my family’s newest destination traditions – the English Rose Tea Room. This quaint, proper high-tea room with fresh scones, intoxicating teas and special surprises for desert has been my family’s official Mother’s Day outing for three years running and it’s open all year round!”

Arizona Republic February 1, 2007, Chow & Tell “Good tea prices put a bloom on the English Rose”

Desert Advocate May 31 2006. article by Chris Moore “The jewel in Carefree’s Crown – English Rose Tea Room serves up a bit of Britishness in the desert…mad dogs and Englishmen go out in the midday sun…but Arizonans are better off ducking into a shady tea room to beat off the summer heat…there’s only one place to cool off and partake in a spot of tea…in distinctly English style – the English Rose Tea Room”

Arizona Woman Magazine December 2005, article by Suzanne Brent “Arizona is expected to lead the nation in restaurant employment in the next decade…failures are commonplace in the mercilessly competitive industry…but Arizona women are proving it is not impossible. Here we take a look at Valley women restaurant owners who dared to open their restaurants and succeeded, with lots of passion and hard work…” spotlighting Joanne Gemmill Owner of English Rose Tea Room Carefree”

Testimonials from www.teamap.com
Variety:  Artistry:  Service:  Food: This is a sweet little place. Very darling and feminine decor. I love the lace and queen mother pictures. The gifts and the shop next door are darling. The tea was wonderful. Well worth the drive.
- Amanda 05/09/11
Variety:  Artistry:  Service:  Food: Traveling from Michigan, I had the opportunity to have tea here last week while visiting my sister. This is a true gem of a tea room! The atmosphere was wonderful and the meal was as well. Highly recommend this tearoom for a perfect afternoon respite!
- Kathleen Chizek 02/17/11
Variety:  Artistry:  Service:  Food: Me and my mother, who was raised in London, had a lovely time at The English Rose in Carefree. The food was wonderful and delicious and the tea (we tried the Darjeeling) was flavorful and the best I have ever had at a tearoom. We will be coming here again very soon. Thanks Jo!
- Audrey Kelley 02/10/11
Variety:  Artistry:  Service:  Food: adorable
- sara 11/05/10
Variety: gold star Artistry: gold star Service: gold star Food: gold starHello fellow tea lovers! I am writing to describe my superb experience at the English Rose Tea Room in Cave Creek Arizona. Having never been there before and being a tea enthusiast, my expectations were a bit “queasy.” However after talking to a lovely young girl named Cari, she informed me that my insecurities would soon vanish. And so they did. Walking in the tea room I was greeted by both the hostess and the girl Cari. Though Cari seemed very busy she dropped everything and thus sat me. The table was small for three people but still lovely. The tables were decorated with antique cards and lace and everything seemed clean and dainty. Cari served us with excellence while maintaining the very crowded desk-area. Though obviously busy none of the staff seemed a bit stressed and ALL were very helpful and caring. One of my guests was elderly and needed assistance to her table from which I was planning on giving myself. To my surprise Cari and the hostess provided two strong arms and helped my elderly guest to and from her table and even to get a vintage hat! Guests of ALL ages have to see the hat room it is very fun. The food was flavorful and the servings appropriate. The tea was very good, I branched out an tried the “paris” tea from which I was much pleased with. The tea room itself was adorable and the service was the best I have had yet. Fellow tea lovers this is a MUST
- Lauren Rulhe 08/13/07
Variety: gold star Artistry: gold star Service: gold star Food: gold starCould you ever imagine coming to Arizona and finding tucked away a truly magical place like fairy land my eyes could not stop looking I felt like a child again especially when I met the owner who was like mary poppins and this was all before we tasted the delicious food and hot scones and cream and jam and of course real English tea.We then went to the shop next door which was full of wonderfull gifts, the only sad part was having to leave and on my return home to England I will look for something so special,but I bet I never find it.
- Sue Haberman 05/17/07

Variety: gold star Artistry: gold star Service: gold star Food: gold starI had never been to a tearoom before. This was my first time. I decided to bring my Mother & Sister who were in visiting from New York. We were all blown away with the adorable venue. The service was friendly and made us feel at home. The food was unexpectedly delicious. The atmosphere was exceptionally whimsical as there was live music, violins playing in the tearoom. Our experience here was talked about for days and I believe the highlight of Mom & Sis’s visit to AZ. My mother will be back to visit me in February 2007 and we will be sure to make another reservation at the English Rose, possibly an event that must take place everytime Mother is in town. Thank you English Rose for an enjoyable afternoon.
- Kristin Romano 01/04/07

 

Please check out more of our reviews below or leave us a review on our contact page. Thanks!

yelp-badge

Excellence-Badge_2013_en